The Reluctant Night Out

Posted on December 22, 2009. Filed under: Short Stories | Tags: , , , , |

Why is it so cold?

My heels hurt, my legs are cold.  Would rather be at home.

My dress is kind of tight.
No room for eating.  I can’t even think about breathing in this dress.

But I’m here with my girls.  In the back of the taxi.  We’re joking, laughing, crying.  We’re talking, loudly.  I think the driver is getting fed up with us.

We’re outside the club.  It’s freezing.  The line is so long.  The girls are so young.  The guys are so cute.
But where are all the Men!?!

Inside the club, the music is loud.  Good, but loud; so loud.

My toes hurt.  Why I wore these shoes, I don’t know.  My dress keeps on riding up too.  Gorgeous, but highly impractical.

Right, we’re here so I’m going to enjoy myself tonight if it kills me.

I start to dance and really feel my body come to life.
I’m having fun.  I know I am.  You can tell I am.

The dress.  The cold.  The heels.  The preparation.  Oh, the preparation.  I guess it was worth it.

The guy I spotted on entering the club is walking over to me.  He smiles.  I smile.
He starts to dance. 
I stop when I realise he can’t.
I politely smile and mumble something about having a boyfriend.  Thank him for his attention, turn on my heels and swiftly walk away.
My friends are laughing.  So hard.

I’m having fun.  So much fun.  The music is still loud, but lovely and loud.

I say bye to my girls as I get into the taxi.

I sit back and sigh.

My heels still hurt, my legs are still cold and now I’m really tired.

©

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “The Reluctant Night Out”

RSS Feed for Raw Substance Comments RSS Feed

Women can be so cold! honest but so cold.

Yes. This is true! Some more than others unfortunately.

But like sugar and spice and all things nice, too much sugar is artificial and frankly quite bad for you! 🙂

xxx


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

