Disclaimer:

Posted on December 31, 2009. Filed under: Poetry | Tags: , , , , , , |

I am not responsible for your happiness.
This you know is true.
I will try to love you the best I can,
But I can’t make any promises.

If I can’t make it, I’ll try and call beforehand.
But this may not be certain.
And if I do call, please do not expect me to stay on the phone longer than a few minutes;
I am very busy!

I will, on occasion, tell you how much I really like or even love you,
But don’t expect this regularly, as I only do this so you won’t leave me.
You see, I don’t like it when you go distant on me.
I realise then that you must be catching on,
So I do all I can to get you back loving me.

I probably will forget your birthday,
Or anything that means a great deal to you.
But I will expect you to remember mine,
And anything that means a great deal to me.

I don’t like you having other “friends”,
And especially don’t like the idea of you seeing other people. No!
But, I would like for you to be ok with me having other friends,
They’re just friends! Let’s move past this!

I want you to know when I am sick, or down or when I’ve had a bad day.
I need you to be there for me – always.
But please don’t be mad or upset when I can’t care less how your day went,
And, oh, is that a cold I hear coming on?

©

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

