To Tell You The Truth

Posted on January 19, 2010. Filed under: Poetry | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , |

It makes so much sense to me;
Which is crazy.

The lies become true,
The fiction becomes reality.
 
I stumble on the here and now,
And dream about tomorrow.
Holding close to me the fabrication of what isn’t.
 
If nobody knows then who’s to care?
Who am I really hurting?
Really?
Do I care anymore that I’m not who I am?
Do I care that I’m not who I say I am?
Do I care that I’m not who you think I am?
 
Yet I can’t stop!
Won’t stop.
I’ve worked too hard to get here.
This web I’ve spun is far too sweet.
Why would I stop?
 
I’m convincing,
So convincing.
Yet I worry you see right through me.
 
I don’t want to lie to you,
But you like me better this way.

So I pander to your needs,
And create insecurity within me.

But now, I have to be honest with you;
I am not just telling a lie.

Would you believe me if I told you,
I was the lie.

©

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

13 Responses to “To Tell You The Truth”

RSS Feed for Raw Substance Comments RSS Feed

great poem,
elegant post.

Thank you so much. 🙂

x

oohhh, i like the depth of the poem, especially when it culminates in the line “I was the lie”… I wonder if we aren’t all fabrications in the first place and our feelings and emotions just things we want to feel, rather than things we truly understand.
but enough of that. it’s a great poem. the end 🙂

Lol. 🙂

Thanks so much!!

xxx

great poem I especially love the last line

Thank you for your comment. I really appreciate it.

xxx

Wonderfully done!

Thank you so much. So glad you liked it! 🙂

x

nicely done, raw, gritty and real. eventually you lose yourself in the lie.

Thank you so much! 🙂

Yes all of a sudden you realise that you’ve become this lie.

x

I love it. I visit your blog for curiosity and I’m glad because I do it. I discover something beautiful and simple in the same time. Thank you for this poem.

Have a wonderful day! 🙂

Sometimes one gets lost in one’s own lie..
Beautiful post..
Captured me.. I added you to my blogroll.. great stuff you have to share 🙂

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments and support!!! 🙂

Your blog looks great!

xxx


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

