A Perfect Realisation

Posted on January 23, 2010. Filed under: Poetry | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

When all around you are losing their heads, you maintain yours.
Taking pride in your grip.

With a dedication to strength and a will for survival; you’re a rock.
Nothing can move you.
Nothing penetrates.

You are refined by fire,
Sweat-less by its heat.
Unhurt by its power.

Hardened to some, yet purely withstanding to you.
You understand what needs to be done and do it you will.

You fight everyday for perfection, or near enough.
You cannot tolerate defeat. Loss is not in your vocabulary.
Your unflinching demeanour scares others,
Leaving others in awe.
And is, quite simply, astonishing.

Then you break.
I see it in you,
I know you’ve hit.

You refuse to let go.
Refuse to relinquish control.

Stop fighting, I say.
You’re working too hard.

Let things go,
You can’t own it all.

It’s Ok, It’s human and I totally understand.

Perfection is a dream, I say.
So wake up!

And then I wake up.
And then I’m free.

And then I realise what a perfect day this will be.
©

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

4 Responses to “A Perfect Realisation”

RSS Feed for Raw Substance Comments RSS Feed

perfection maybe a dream, it may be real…it depends on your luck or efforts..

beautiful poem.

Thank you so much for your comment 🙂

I wanted to show the struggle that exists when someone is constantly striving for perfection within themselves, to the point of exhaustion.

I personally find that I try to always ‘have it together’ much to the detriment of my health and well-being. But every now and again, I do a self-audit and realise that’s it’s ok to let somethings go.

How not to lose sight of the importance of just being a perfect YOU rather than always trying to be perfect.

x


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

