The Heart of War

Posted on January 29, 2010. Filed under: Poetry | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , |

I’m feeling like you like me this way;
Laid out with no fight,
Wondering where to go.

I get the impression that you don’t want me to stand,
To raise my head and know that I can.

I’m sensing that the you I know isn’t you at all,
You feel superior when I’m feeling inferior.

I have a hunch that my down and out mood pleases you some,
Your words say otherwise but your eyes tell me so.

I feel your foot on the hand I’m trying to lift,
Your sole is pressing into me and my hand goes numb.

I feel your soulless soul burst with delight,
As I start to shake my head in defeat.

I say to you:
Don’t be fooled my stance as I lay down.
With my face in the dirt,
I’m not beaten.

I look up at you and then I see,
You staring back at you.
And me staring back at me.

©

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

3 Responses to “The Heart of War”

RSS Feed for Raw Substance Comments RSS Feed

moving poem,
hope that you find what exactly you want…

sweet dreams,
I love your poems. 😉

That is so very sweet of you, Jingle. Thank you. x

It’s such a wonderful feeling when someone tells you they love your ‘art’. Im so touched by your words.

God bless you.

xxx

words do touch,
you carry beautiful spirits and
do awesome job writing poems,

best, 😉
take care. xxx


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

