As If I Only Had Today

Posted on February 23, 2010. Filed under: Poetry | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , |

One day, a day that changed my life, happened.

Yes, the greatest thing happened to me on this day.
It was the day I realised I don’t hold tomorrow.

The day I realised those I love will be lost.
And those I lost, I may have actually loved.

It was a day that I looked ahead of me;
In front of me,
And only saw now.

This day I stood still and felt the earth move.

On this day, my plans for tomorrow turned into goals for today.

The day I realised it’s all or nothing.
Half hearted just doesn’t cut it.

It was a day I put down the baggage,
And walked away with nothing.
Happy.

On this day I looked and really saw.

It was a day I stopped caring so much about me in others eyes,
And started to care about me in my own!

It was on this day I sat down and realised it all happens for a reason or a season.
Simple.

This day, I knew that worrying is a pointless act.
It may or may not happen.
Either way, worrying does nothing for it.

Yes, on this day I realised I don’t hold tomorrow,
So let me do well with embracing today.

©

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

12 Responses to “As If I Only Had Today”

RSS Feed for Raw Substance Comments RSS Feed

excellent capture of feelings about love and being loved…
hope that u have a lovely day!
cheers, 😉

Thanks Jingle.x 🙂

Here’s to a lovely day to you too!
Make it great!

xxx

Big! Simplicity is how we survive

Thank you hun.

Too much of anything can start to feel like baggage.
xxx

Great poem again.
You have lot of talent,my dear friend!
Keep writing and don’t forgot to smile too 😉

Have fun! 🙂

Thank you so much Alina.

I will definitely keep on smiling 🙂 You keep smiling too 🙂

Have a great day.

xxx

hi, in my case I allowed myself to cry out of joy, I had never thought one could be moved so deeply, to cry of joy, lovely post

Thank you for your wonderful comment Pilar.

Really appreciate it.

All love,

xxx

Awwww thank you so much Jingle.

You really are an ambassador for love, life and friendship. Thank you!!!

I definitely accept.

xxx

Inspiring, encouraging too … perhaps we all may one day discover this simple, but often difficult moment.

Thank you so much my dear! 🙂

This feeling’s a work in progress – felt every so often, but is so freeing and changes you!

xxx


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

